top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

The Pretty Reckless

10.23.16 | House of Blues Las Vegas

First of all I really can’t say how many shows I’ve been to at the House of Blues here in Las Vegas, but it’s been a lot. I’ve been to a few other House of Blues shows in the country and although this is one of the smaller ones I’ve been too, the intimacy of this venue is off the charts. Always great sound, friendly staff and bartenders, security is always on top of it and overall an amazing experience if you want to have a great, intimate time seeing your favorite bands. Before I ramble on about the House of Blues, the show I came for that evening was way better than expected. Two bands I’ve never heard of opened up for The Pretty Reckless. The first one which if I can remember correctly is locally from Las Vegas called Them Evils.

Them Evils had a very true classic rock vibe to them and they also slipped in some heavier parts to their songs. They played as a three piece which included a drummer, guitarist and a bass player. It was fun to get into their original pieces which they played mostly but they also put some cover songs in as well. The couple cover songs they however did play was "Ace of Spades" by Motorhead and an AC/DC song (which for the life of me I can’t remember which song, maybe "You Shook Me All Night Long"?) What was great about the cover songs was they put their own twist to it and I absolutely loved the way the guitar player was playing. Overall amazing performance so far for this first band.

YouTube | Untold – Them Evils (Official Music Video)

The next band on the lineup that was opening up was the Holy White Hounds. I really didn’t recognize who they were until they had played a song called "Switchblade" which has been getting a little bit of radio play out here on Vegas’ rock station. What I truly loved about these guys performance was they seemed to make it a comedy skit along while playing their music. In between songs they kept making hilarious jokes and even the guitar player was imitating other famous people. They really knew how to get the crowd involved along with them. I was enjoying their songs, the way they played those songs and the hilarity they put into the show. Definitely would love to see them play again.

Vevo | Blind – Holy White Hounds (Official Music Video)

Now The Pretty Reckless I had listened to a lot before but never actually seen them play live so I did not know what to expect. Right from the get go they had an intense intro where they all came out on stage. Taylor Mumson, the lead singer came out in this awesome black leather overcoat and I could already tell that this was going to be a great performance. I’ve always loved her voice for this type of genre from a recording. But witnessing her sing live, that woman can really sing. The rest of the band had an amazing performance. They all had such a killer way of playing anything and the rest of the band really made me feel like as if I was at a Motorhead show or even an old classic thrash metal show. Overall I give this performance between all three bands a nine out of ten and would love to see them all again.

Vevo | Take Me Down – The Pretty Reckless

bottom of page